Southern Tier Bourbon Barrel Backburner

Posted: August 5, 2012 in American Barleywine, Reviews, Southern Tier Brewing Company

I saw this one on the tap list and I just had to try it. I’ve never had the regular version, but to have a bourbon barrel aged barleywine? Oh yeah, definitely up my alley. Even though it’s August and I started sweating right before I ordered this, I just had to order it.

ABV: 14.1%

Style: American Barleywine

Trivia: This is a draft only brew. I’m glad I scored a glass of it.

Random: Somehow, I managed to forget to put a “random” thing down and noticed it over a month later. Not cool, not cool.

This one poured with a one finger white head that took awhile to dissipate. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a slightly cloudy dark chestnut color with no real visible carbonation. The nose was really pungent. I got rum soaked raisins and lots and lots of bourbon. It was really enjoyable. The taste was just as good. I got huge notes of bourbon and raisin with lots of booze. The body was pretty thick overall, but for a barleywine it wasn’t as thick as I’m used to. The brew finished long and boozy. I really enjoyed this brew. I would definitely have this one again, even in August. I definitely have to get my hands on the regular version and see how it stands up to this one.

Comments
  1. I too found this on tap and had to try it. Really great barlywine with solid Bourbon flavor. Have been searching high and low here in PA for it in bottles to no avail. Found the non-bourbon version which is still good, but it’s got nothing on the Bourbon barrel. After reading your ‘trivia’ of it being a draft only offering, I may hang up the quest for bottled home enjoyment of this one. If you see it on draft, do not hesitate, get it while you can. It may just become one of my holy grail beverages. If you know where to buy it bottled/growler in NE PA, please share your source. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

