Red Hook Long Hammer IPA

Posted: September 11, 2012 in American IPA, Redhook Ale Brewery, Reviews

 

I’m finally getting through some of the beer in the beer fridge. I don’t know how long this one has been sitting here, but it’s my first Red Hook beer. I remember Red Hook beers from when I was a kid. I remember seeing the label and thinking it was odd, because I had only really seen Bud/Miller/Coors up until that point. I really haven’t seen Red Hook beers around a lot. I’m not sure if that’s because of popularity or what, but I saw this one and picked it up.

 

ABV: 6.2%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “The generous addition of hops both during and at the end of the fermentation process (dry-hopping) gives our India Pale Ale its characteristic bitterness and piney citrus aroma and flavor. The medium body, crisp finish, and moderate alcohol and IBU levels makes this one of America’s most drinkable and best-selling IPAs.”

Random: I really like the shape of the bottles. They are definitely different than I’ve ever seen before.

This brew poured with half a finger of pure white head that dissipated rather slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear straw yellow color with heavy visible carbonation. The nose was more grassy than I’m used to for an IPA. I also got some mild grapefruit. The taste was…borderline awful. Where were the hops on this one? Did the just dip them in? I got very, very little bit of grapefruit and a hint of floral characteristic. As I keep sipping it, praying it would get better, it didn’t. It was like drinking hop flavored seltzer. The body was over carbonated and on the thinner side. The finish was almost instantaneous. This was just awful and really should have been a drain pour. I wouldn’t have this again if someone handed it to me.

Leave a Reply

