North Coast Pranqster

Posted: June 27, 2010 in Belgian Strong Pale Ale, North Coast Brewing Company, Reviews

This is the second beer of the night, North Coast Pranqster. Now, before anyone says anything, I don’t have a tulip glass. In retrospect, I’d probably have been better off pouring into a wine glass. So, I’m actually going to have two (saying I bought a 4 pack), pour the second into a wine glass and see if there is a difference.

ABV: 7.6%

Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale

Trivia: Belgian strong ales were originally developed by the Moortgat brewery after WWII as a response to the growing popularity of Pilsner beers.

Random: I really need a tulip glass. I think it may be an early birthday gift to myself.

I’ve never (to my knowledge) had a Belgian Strong Pale Ale. So, I didn’t really know what to expect. Poured with less than one finger of head that dissipated even quicker than the Flying Dog. It was a nice golden color, not very cloudy, with visible active carbonation. The nose was less fruity than I expected and couldn’t really put my finger on it (I looked it up on the North Coast website and they say the nose is floral, and I could definitely believe that).  The finish is spicy (the other half chimes in with, ‘not hot, just spicy’). There is also some fruit notes, which still make it very crisp, but it has a lot more body than a hefeweizen or a saison. It goes down a lot easier than the 7.6%, the only time I even consider it is on the finish. As far as mouthfeel, it’s definitely carbonated and the more I’m drinking it, the more spiciness I get on the finish. All in all, it’s a solid beer with some complexities. I think I may have to have another to get all the different flavors.

Note: Just poured into a balloon red wine glass…and you do get a lot more on the nose. I completely forgot that I had these glasses, so these will do until I get a tulip glass.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] 3. North Coast Pranqster – Belgian Strong Pale Ale […]

  2. […] other sort of flavor that I can’t really describe at the end. It tastes a little like the North Coast Pranqster. After some research, I assume that it’s the Belgian yeast that everyone is talking about […]

  3. […] Coast is a brewery that I fell in love with early on in my craft beer life. I remember drinking North Coast Pranqster and just falling in love with the complexity of it. Almost every offering from them has knocked my […]

Leave a Reply

