St. Bernardus Abt 12

Posted: December 21, 2010 in Brouwerij St. Bernardus NV, Quadrupel (Quad), Reviews

This was a brew that I was really excited to try. I went to Stuff Yer Face (one of my favorite haunts) with Chris about a month ago. I saw this one on the beer menu and I had to try it. My biggest problem every time I go there is that I can’t figure out which beer it is that I want. This time, it wasn’t an issue. I’ve heard so much good stuff about this brew that I couldn’t wait any longer.

ABV: 10.5%

Style: Quad

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Water, pumped up from a depth of 150 meter is the basis of all St. Bernardus beers. This water is not only the purest but has also a historical background. Scientists have proved that the water that is pumped up now, is originating from rainfall from the time of Jeanne d’Arc. The water seeped to Watou through a pervious stratum of sand from the St. Omer area in France. After brewing, the beer is maturing in a natural way and subsequently bottled unfiltered. By adding sugar and yeast, the beer gets a second fermentation in the bottle, carbonating the beer in a natural way. This gives the beer a beautiful and large froth.”

Random: I’m all about beer labels and I’m digging the very happy (read: drunk) looking monk on the label of this one.

This brew poured with a one-finger tan head that lingers for a while. The body itself is really dark. It was an inky brown that was really cloudy and almost impossible to see through. The head left significant lacing on the glass. On the nose, I got a lot of yeast notes and then some dark fruits, I’m thinking prunes or dates? This is a complex nose to say the least. On the taste, I got some booze up front and then more dark fruits. I’m starting to think fig instead of prunes on the taste. The brew had some carbonation to it. On the finish, the yeast comes back out to play with some caramel sweetness. The booze definitely gives a warming feeling to the beer, although considering how high the ABV is, it’s not really overwhelming. I really enjoyed this beer. There is so much going on it with it and it’s just a really enjoyable beer. I would definitely have this again, but this is not a beer I could have more than one or two of, because the booze would just knock me on my ass.

Untappd Rating: 5.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] night last night. I’m hoping tonight turns out to be better. I started the night with a St. Bernardus Abt 12 while waiting for the Phillies game to come on (awesome beer by the way) and now I’m on to […]

Leave a Reply

