21st Amendment Back In Black

Posted: January 1, 2011 in 21st Amendment Brewery, American Black Ale, Reviews

This brew came as a remnant of a six-pack that I had picked up for myself to use for a party. I really do like the whole concept of canning beer. There are so many places that you can’t bring bottles to, so you’re relegated to bringing crappy beer. But, no more. I haven’t had any Oskar Blues brews yet (shocking, I know, they’re on my list, I just haven’t gotten around to them), but I love the thought of bringing craft beer in cans places.

ABV: 6.8%

Style: Black IPA/Cascadian Dark Ale

Trivia: According to the 21st Amendment website, “Inspired by Paul Revere’s midnight ride, we rebelled against the British style IPA, embraced the more aggressive American version and then recast it in bold, brave, defiant black. Our Black IPA is a Declaration of Independence from the tyranny of the expected. Back in Black is our newest year-round beer available now in six-pack cans and on draft. Brewed like an American IPA but with the addition of rich, dark malts, this beer has all the flavor and hop character you expect with a smooth, mellow finish.”

Random: I really don’t understand the whole Cascadian Dark Ale nomenclature. Just call it what it is, a black IPA. I prefer that. Okay, rant over.

This brew poured with a two finger fluffy tan head. It looks almost exactly like a stout. The body was a dark brown, almost black. As a result, there is no visible carbonation. The head takes awhile to dissipate and leaves significant lacing on the glass. The nose has a hint of smoke or toastiness (maybe a little nuttiness?) and some hops. This is different from a normal IPA. There is definite hoppy bitterness on the taste, but there is almost a roasted nutty taste to it. This isn’t what I expected at all, but then again, I never had a black IPA. The finish lingers with a lot of nuttiness, moreso than the hops. I would have this again, probably after I had another black IPA to compare it to.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

