Mikkeller/BrewDog I Hardcore You

Posted: February 28, 2011 in American Double/Imperial IPA, BrewDog Ltd, Reviews

I hate Mondays like no other. Not that I think I’m alone in that, but it doesn’t help that I’ve been studying all night for a midterm tomorrow. So, now that I’m on a study break before I go to bed early, I think I deserve a nice hoppy beer.

ABV: 9.5%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to BrewDog.com, “I Hardcore You is a 9.5% Imperial India Pale Ale, an international collaborative effort between 2 of Europe’s most rock ‘n roll brewers. This beer is a blend of BrewDog’s Hardcore IPA and Mikkeller’s I Beat You (2 of my favourite beers). After the blending, the beer was then dry hopped a further twice. Making I Hardcore You a beer which has been dry hopped four times, or maybe even six times. We kinda lost count. As far as we are aware this is the first collaboration of this type anywhere in the world. The first time a collaboration beer has been made by blending beers from the respective brewers together.”

Random: I picked this brew up along with a few others I hadn’t seen when I was out to dinner with my sister. She said that she found a great beer store and I had to go. I walked out a very happy girl.

This brew poured with a one finger pure white head that dissipated at a moderate pace and left some lacing on the glass. After I poured the beer, I thought that I probably should have used a tulip glass…oh well. The body was a hazy orange color with some carbonation visible. The nose smelled inviting with some definite sweetness and then happy hoppiness. It reminded me of another beer that I’ve had and enjoyed, but I couldn’t really place it. The first sip was really good and exactly what I expected from the nose. I got a definite malt flavor and then some sticky piney hops. Minor flavors that started to come out were nuts, almost a little like a brown ale. The booze is pretty well hidden on this. The finish was more on the bitter side with hops lingering on my tongue for awhile. This is a pretty good beer, although definitely more malty than I expected. I would have it again, but not the best double IPA I’ve ever had.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

