BrewDog Tokyo

Posted: March 14, 2011 in American Double/Imperial Stout, BrewDog Ltd, Reviews

Today was a crazy day. Work was really busy, even for a Monday. I came home and went for a run. Although it was a little colder than I’d like, I really got a burst of energy from it. I sat down to have some dinner while watching another disc of It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia. I really love this show. It’s absolutely ridiculous and hilarious.

ABV: 18%

Style: American Double/Imperial Stout

Trivia: According to the BrewDog website, “The irony of existentialism, the parody of being and the inherent contradictions of post-modernism, all so delicately conveyed by the blocky, pixelated arcade action have all been painstakingly recreated in this bottles contents. This imperial stout is brewed with copious amounts of speciality malts, jasmine and cranberries. After fermentation we then dry-hop this killer stout with a bucketload of our favourite hops before carefully ageing the beer on French toasted oak chips. It is all about moderation. Everything in moderation, including moderation itself. What logically follows is that you must, from time, have excess. This beer is for those times.”

Random: I’ve always thought that BrewDog as a whole was kinda like attention whores, but I’ve heard great things about this brew, so I had to pick a bottle up when I got the chance.

I let this brew warm up for a good 15 minutes. I even grabbed a snifter for it (probably because my Duvel glass was dirty). This beer is already intimidating. I think any beer that’s over 8% really has to balance the high alcohol with the other flavors, because anything that high can just overwhelm anything else going on in the brew. I poured the brew into the snifter and got immediately surprised by two things. First, the color was a cloudy reddish-brown, almost mahogany. Then, the booze was apparent on the pour. It smacked me in the face. This is going to be an intense beer. The head was barely a half a finger and tan. It dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The nose was laden with booze, then some dark fruit, especially raisins and prunes. There was also a hint of smoke to it with some roasted malts. The nose definitely came out more as it warmed. The first sip is not at all what I expected. Spice, like anise was apparent with some vanilla, oak and roasted malts. There is a lot of booze on this and is really apparent on the finish and leaves my throat really warm. The booze is a little too much and just overwhelmed everything else. It was definitely a big beer and a little on the syrupy side with minimal carbonation. This is a beer for me that I’m glad I tried, but there’s almost too much going on with it. There was almost a licorice flavor that I just couldn’t get past. I wouldn’t rush back to have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] I found this beer along while I was trying to grab a bottle of Tokyo. I didn’t find a bottle of that, but I grabbed this (although I did grab a bottle of […]

Leave a Reply

