BrewDog Hardcore IPA

Posted: March 22, 2011 in American Double/Imperial IPA, BrewDog Ltd, Reviews

Today was my first day back to class after Spring Break. I’ll be honest, I really didn’t miss class. Then, I was off to work and found out that my buddies at Cranbury Buy Rite got their shipment of Founders KBS (see shameless picture below).

Needless to say, I had to stop by after work and pick up a bottle. I can’t wait to try it. I think I’m going to save this one for my first beer after graduation. Anyways, onto the beer.

ABV: 9.2%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the BrewDog website, “This little bottle has a grandiloquent story to tell. 2,204 malted Maris Otter grains gave all they had to offer the world to provide the robustly delicate toffee malt canvas for the ensuing epic. 6 Hop Cones willingly sacrificed themselves in fiery cauldron that is our brew kettle to ensure your mouth is left feeling punished and puckering for more. 9,900,000,000 yeast cells frantically fermented their little hearts out as the sugars were magically turned into alcohol in the dark depths of our fermentation tanks. This explicit ale has more hops and bitterness that any other beer brewed in the UK. This is an extreme beer rollercoaster for freaks, gypsies and international chess superstars.”

Random: I’ve found that not having a usable thumb really limits one’s beer shopping.

I poured this beer into my Flying Fish tulip glass (gotta represent Jersey) and I remember that it’s been awhile since I’ve had a nice hoppy brew. I tend to get cravings for hoppy brews and hopefully this will do it for me. The brew itself poured a cloudy chestnut-brown topped with a one finger off white head that dissipated quickly, leaving no sign of its existence on the glass. The nose presented with some piney notes, followed by grapefruit and a floral scent. There were also some hints of booze and a buttery caramel malt. There was also some carbonation visible. On the taste, it was much more balanced than I expected. The caramel malt transitioned into piney hops with some resin and grapefruit. For me, the malt really dominated more than expected and the booze also made a quick appearance. The finish was pretty long with significant bitterness. Despite the high booze, it was pretty well hidden. I could easily down a few of these without a problem, but it’s definitely best to stop at one. The brew was also a bit lighter than expected, although not problematic. I definitely enjoyed this. It was a solid DIPA, but not the best one I’ve ever tasted.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

