Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale

Posted: June 23, 2011 in American Strong Ale, Lexington Brewing Co., Reviews

This week seriously needs to end. I haven’t been this busy at work in awhile, nor have I been this exhausted. I actually slept for eight hours last night and somehow, I’m still tired. Don’t get me wrong, my week goes much quicker when I’m busy, but I can’t wait until the weekend. I think I may be hitting up some bars in Philly with my sister. So, this beer is one that I had to pick up when I went to Massachusetts. One of the other types of alcohol that I really enjoy is the whole family of scotch/bourbon/Irish whiskey. A beer with the word bourbon in the name is definitely coming home with me.

ABV: 8.19%

Style: American Strong Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Award winning Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale is a unique sipping beer with the distinctive nose of a well-crafted bourbon.  Our Kentucky Ale is aged for up to 6 weeks in freshly decanted bourbon barrels from some of Kentucky’s finest distilleries. Subtle yet familiar flavors of vanilla and oak are imparted to this special ale as it rests in the charred barrels.  Pleasantly smooth and robust, Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale may also be served as an aperitif or after dinner drink.”

Random: I’ve been listening to this 90s Pandora station all day and I kinda love it. I may or may not be dancing around to Whitney Houston’s, “How Will I Know,” just saying…

Yep, I broke out the snifter for this bad boy. I was highly considering it, but once I saw that even the brewery recommended using one, how could I not? The beer poured with very little head. A very small amount remained and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear light orange-brown with moderate active carbonation. After letting the brew warm up for a few minutes (which by the way, was torture), I stuck my nose in the glass. I got some vanilla, bourbon, oak, brown sugar and a bit of booze. Once I get to have my first sip of the beer, there is no mistaking that this is a bourbon aged beer. I got the bourbon, a bit of wood and a hint of smoke and vanilla at the end. When I see a bourbon aged beer, I would expect a thicker beer, but this was a thin beer with low to moderate carbonation. It started to have more caramel notes to it as it warmed and the vanilla really came out and lasted through the finish. I was surprised at how hidden the booze was. When I first started drinking the brew, I wasn’t sure if I was the biggest fan of it. But, as it warmed, it really was a solid brew that I thoroughly enjoyed. I would definitely have this again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

