Mikkeller Barrel Aged Chipotle Porter

Posted: January 24, 2012 in American Porter, Mikkeller, Reviews

Another fun day at work. I think that I have work induced ADD. If I’m in a conference call or a meeting for more than an hour and a half, I seriously start to zone out. I don’t know when I got this issue, but I just can’t sit for that long. Needless to say, today was one of those days that I got into the conference room at 1200 and didn’t get back to my desk until after 1600. Anyways, I’m happy to be home. I had the regular version of this brew last February (Mikkeller Chipotle Porter) and really enjoyed it. Given that I love anything barrel aged, I have high hopes.

ABV: 6.6%

Style: American Porter

Trivia: This bad boy is aged in Speyside whisky barrels…sounds like it’s up my alley.

Random: The new Ingrid Michaelson album came out today. I can’t wait to listen to it.

This brew poured with a two finger tan head that dissipated quickly and left limited lacing on my pint glass. The body was a dark brown with no visible carbonation due to the color. On the nose, the first thing that I got was overwhelming whisky barrels with a little bit of chipotle. Even the roasted malts were a bit hidden. The taste was a little more balanced. It started with the whisky at the beginning and then went into the chipotle, which had a hint of warming, but was pretty subtle given the other flavors. The body was pretty silky and more towards the thick side for a porter with low carbonation. Given the flavors on this bad boy, one would think it had a higher ABV, and I actually think that the brew would have benefitted from that. The finish lingered with the whisky flavors for awhile. I was really disappointed with this brew. I wouldn’t rush back to have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] I’m going to also list the biggest disappointment beer of the month. For January this was Mikkeller Barrel Aged Chipotle Porter. The regular version I had was amazing and I had high hopes for the barrel aged version. […]

  2. […] Mikkeller Barrel Aged Chipotle Porter […]

  3. […] Mikkeller Barrel Aged Chipotle Porter v. (12) Samuel Adams Holiday Porter Winner: Samuel Adams Holiday Porter Comments: As much as I […]

Leave a Reply

