Beach Haus Classic American Pilsner

Posted: February 10, 2012 in American Pale Lager, East Coast Beer Company, Reviews

This was another beer that I had when I was out with the other half. I’ve seen it around and especially since it’s a local brew, I figured it was worth a try. I was a little skeptical because I tend not to like the style, but let’s see how it goes.

ABV: 5.3%

Style: American Pale Lager

Trivia: According to nj.com, “Beach Haus (pronounced the same, by the way, as the Beach House surf shop in Bay Head, which caters to old surfers rather than old beer-drinkers) bills itself as an ‘American pilsner.’”

Random: This also won a blind taste test done by nj.com.

This brew poured with half a finger of white head on a straw yellow body with very little carbonation. The head dissipated relatively quickly and left a bit of lacing on the glass. The nose was very mild with a little bit of malt. The taste was a bit on the sweet side with grain and grass present. This had a bit more body than I was used to for the style. It also had a longer finish than I was expecting. It also had lower carbonation on it than I was expecting for the style. Given all of this, I enjoyed it far more than I thought I would. It went down really easily and makes for a good session beer. I could have put a few of these away without a problem. I could see having a few of these in the summer while I’m barbecuing. Definitely worth a try.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] Region (1) Founders Red’s Rye PA v. (16) Beach Haus Classic American Pilsner Winner: Founders Red’s Rye PA Comments: Another blowout. Founders Red’s Rye was […]

Leave a Reply

