Weyerbacher Hops Infusion

Posted: February 17, 2012 in American IPA, Reviews, Weyerbacher Brewing Company

Another day, another brew. I haven’t had a brew from Weyerbacher since April 2011. I find their brews on balance to be good, nothing amazing but solid. I also am really digging their new logo. I found the old one to be a bit on the boring side. Onto the brew…

ABV: 6.2%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to beeradvocate.com, “Made with seven hop varieties, this deep copper-orange IPA is loaded with juicy hop notes of pine, lemon zest, and a layer of pink grapefruit and a strong foundation of toasted caramel malts underneath it all give this beer a complexity that’s unparalleled.” Yet, it gets only an average score of 78 from the “bros.”

Random: I picked this brew up because it was announced in Janaury that Weyerbacher will be replacing it with a new West Coast IPA.

This beer poured with a half a finger of pure white head that dissipated relatively quickly and left no lacing on the glass. About an eighth of an inch of head remained on top of the body of the brew. The body was a hazy dark orange with a decent amount of carbonation. For an IPA, this brew had a really mild nose, more towards an English IPA than an American one in my opinion. I almost had to stick my nose in the glass to get a hint of a hop and perhaps some malt? The taste was not much better than the nose. I got malt upfront and then, grapefruit on the back, but not what I would expect from an IPA, especially one named “Hops Infusion.” This brew is really boring and simple…malt and bitter. That was it. The finish lingered with some hints of hops. The body was medium and a bit on the syrupy side with lower than expected carbonation. Honestly, I can see why they’re getting rid of this brew. It just didn’t do anything for me. Hopefully the new version lives up to the name.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] Port Mongo IPA v. (14) Weyerbacher Hops Infusion Winner: Port Mongo IPA Comments: I loved Mongo IPA and I couldn’t stand Hops Infusion. I […]

  2. […] but they’re local (Easton, PA) and they put out some decent stuff. This brew replaced their Hops Infusion IPA, which just didn’t do it for me. This one was recommended to me at the beer store and […]

Leave a Reply

