Fuller’s London Pride

Posted: February 27, 2012 in English Pale Ale, Fuller Smith & Turner PLC, Reviews

The second British brew for the night. I don’t know why I’ve avoided British beers. I mean, at least with IPAs I know why. I tend to really enjoy the bolder flavors of an American IPA compared to a British one, but in terms of other styles, I really need to start expanding. Let’s see how this one goes.

ABV: 4.7%

Style: English Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery, “London Pride, Fuller’s flagship beer, was crowned the Supreme Champion at the 2000 International Beer and Cider competition. London Pride was named Champion Best Bitter at the CAMRA Great British Beer Festival in 1995, and in 1979 when it also achieved the ultimate accolade of Beer of the Year. It also received the gold medal at the 2002 and 2001 International Beer and Cider competitions. Additionally, judges awarded the bronze medal to London Pride at the 2002 Great British Beer Festival in the Best Bitter category.”

Random: I hate when drag queens look better in a dress than me. It’s almost annoying…

The brew poured with a half a finger of off white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, mahogany color with very low carbonation. The nose definitely had some malt to it, coupled with some floral hops and a mineral scent to it. This was definitely more subtle of a pale ale than I was used to. The taste had a good combination of clean malt, dry grain, earthy hop and biscuit with a clean and quick finish. The body was thin with low carbonation. It was also very crisp and very clean. Although I prefer the American counterpart to the pale ale, this one was really nice and probably the best one I’ve had of the style. I’d definitely have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Comments
  1. I don’t usually like mentioning my blog in comments I make on blogs I find (I think it looks to much like shameless promotion) but I found it coincidental that you reviewed a beer I also reviewed in the last week. Anyway, it is a beer I very much enjoy, and really a beer I had just recently tried for the first time.

  2. […] Fuller’s London Pride v. (10) Wychwood Hobgoblin Winner: Fuller’s London Pride Comments: Another easy matchup, despite the rankings. Hobgoblin was a bit thin and not really […]

  3. […] Fuller’s London Pride v. (2) Fuller’s London Porter Winner: Fuller’s London Porter Comments: It’s […]

  4. Helpful info. Lucky me I discovered your website unintentionally, and I’m shocked why this coincidence did not came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

