Lagunitas New Dogtown Pale Ale

Posted: March 22, 2012 in American Pale Ale, Lagunitas Brewing Company, Reviews

It’s almost the weekend! Today was actually a pretty good day. My sister emailed me and asked me if I wanted to go to a Phillies event in a few weeks with a Q&A and autograph session with the players and then watch them play their exhibition game against the Pirates. Do I want to go? Uh, yeah. I’m not sure who the players are going to be, but honestly, does it really matter? So, that pretty much made my day. I’m going down South tomorrow for work, so I have to get to bed early. Here’s another brew from a brewery that I tend to love…

ABV: 6.1%

Style: American Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “We at the Lagunitas Brewing Company hope you enjoy this genuinely handmade ale. A lot of hard work and enthusiasm go into every aspect of brewing this Mondo Ultra Mega Super Premium Ale. From building the brewery itself to putting the cap on each and every bottle, virtually every step was done by hand. Thanks for your trust and as always: Think Globally, Drink Locally”

ABV: 6.2%

Random: My only complaint with Lagunitas is how plain the labels are. I do like their bottle caps.

The brew poured with a one finger, pure white head that dissipated quickly and left limited lacing on the glass. The body was a light orange-yellow color with a huge amount of carbonation visible through the clear body. The nose was pretty pungent with lots of fresh grapefruit and flowers. This definitely smelled like my type of pale ale. The taste started with a decent amount of grapefruit and ends with some malt, although the citrus hops steal the show here. The finish was a bit on the bitter side, which I totally dug. This was definitely a hop lover’s pale ale. The finished lingered for a long time, especially for a pale. The body was on the thicker side of a pale ale with a decent amount of carbonation. This was definitely a great pale ale to me and one I’ll search out again. Get your hands on this one.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

