Troegs Nugget Nectar (Revisit)

Posted: April 1, 2012 in American Amber/Red Ale, Reviews, Troegs Brewing Company

So, for the past few weeks, I’ve been going back and editing old posts. It was part of my “Beer Resolutions” after the blog hit a year. For me, the blog is a bit of a time capsule. I tend to talk about some aspects of my personal life, so going back and reading them is quite interesting. I’ve talked about old girlfriends, school, work, etc. It’s definitely funny for me to look back, because my life has taken a huge turn from when I started the blog, both personally and professionally. If someone had told me back then that I would be dating a girl who was older than me (she is ancient, being 31 and all) and spending time with her child and enjoying it, I would have thought you were crazy (and that’s only my dating life). I have to say, I don’t think I’ve ever been happier with my life. I’m surrounded by wonderful people and having an absolute blast. So, it’s only appropriate that I’m having brew that I had early on in the blog and didn’t really enjoy, despite the hype.

ABV: 7.5%

Style: American Amber/Red Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Squeeze those hops for all they’re worth and prepare to pucker up: Nugget Nectar Ale, will take hopheads to nirvana with a heady collection of Nugget, Warrior and Tomahawk hops. Starting with the same base ingredients of our flagship HopBack Amber Ale, Nugget Nectar intensifies the malt and hop flavors to create an explosive hop experience.”

Random: My cat is now obsessed with going outside. He sits at the door and meows so that I take him out on the leash.

This brew poured with a two finger, off white head that dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a deep orange-amber color with pretty active visible carbonation. The nose was filled with hoppy goodness – fresh grapefruit and citrus. The taste was really well balanced. It started with some grapefruit and then some caramel malt sweetness. A bit of nuttiness also came through on the brew. The taste was just outstanding. The body and carbonation were heavier than expected, but worked well for the beer. The finish was relatively long with nuttiness and some bitterness. This was an easy drinking brew that was just fantastic. I can’t believe that I didn’t like it when I first had it. I guess I wasn’t a total hophead yet.

Untappd Rating: 5.0/5.0

Comments
  1. beerbecue says:

    Good to see your change of heart on Nugget Nectar. It’s a good one. I am like that sometimes, too. I will revisit something, and I’ll be all, “Wha?! I liked this?” or “Wha?! I didn’t like this?!”.

Leave a Reply

