Saranac Black and Tan

Posted: April 9, 2012 in Black & Tan, Reviews, The Matt Brewing Company

I was still exhausted from chasing the child last night when I popped this one open. I seriously do not understand how four year olds have so much energy. My parents found it pretty funny though. They kept saying how I used to do this to them. For some reason, I don’t remember that. I think Katie found it funny too. At one point, I was just running back and forth across the lawn with the kid, kicking the soccer ball. At least I got some cardio in. So, this is another beer from the New York six-pack. Saranac has been hit or miss for me, so let’s see how this goes.

ABV: 5.4%

Style: Black and Tan

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Saranac Black & Tan is a judicious melding of our classic Irish-style stout with an all-malt German-style amber lager. The result is a brew that is hearty, pleasantly bitter and full of flavor yet can be enjoyed bottle after bottle. Our unique Black & Tan has multiple flavor notes…you may enjoy counting them. Cheers!”

Random: These have to be some of the most boring labels in craft beer…

This brew poured with a half a finger of cream-colored head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on my pint glass. The body was a clear, dark brown color with lots of active, visible carbonation on it. The nose was mostly roasted malts. I really don’t understand what they were talking about with the “multiple flavor notes,” because I really didn’t get that from the nose. But, the taste started with some very bitter roasted malts that were a bit unpleasant. I didn’t get much else. Well, maybe a little bit of coffee, but that was a bit of a stretch. The body was a bit thin for the style with a lot of carbonation. The finish lingered for awhile with roasted malts with a bit of metal. The beer was okay, noting great. I wouldn’t have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

