Leinenkugel Summer Shandy

Posted: April 15, 2012 in Fruit/Vegetable Beer, Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing Company, Reviews

This was the second beer of last night. I’ve had this beer before, probably before I even started the blog. I hated it. I mean, beer and lemonade? A lot of things work in beer for me, lemonade is not one of them. Let’s see if my opinion changed on this one…

ABV: 4.2%

Style: Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy® is our take on a traditional German radler. Crisp, refreshing and brewed with natural lemonade flavor, it’s perfect for the sun-splashed summer months.”

Random: People go crazy for this beer. It really doesn’t make a lot of sense to me.

I have no idea why I decided to review this. This is a beer that I’ve had before and absolutely hated. I just don’t get the desire to mix lemonade and beer. Pick one or the other. But, other breweries have recently followed suit, so I guess we’ll be seeing more of these beers now. Can’t wait. But, in the interest of the blog, I ordered a pint to review. This poured with a barely there white head on top of a cloudy, light yellow body (think a melted lemon Italian ice). Due to the cloudiness, I couldn’t see any carbonation. The nose was all lemon, but not like a fresh-cut lemon, like lemon flavoring. I can’t wait to sip this one. The taste was like drinking lemon juice. I really didn’t see any beer involved in this. Ugh, this one was just horrible. The body was medium thickness with lots of prickly carbonation. The finish is luckily quick. If I wasn’t at a bar, this would have been a drainpour. Even Katie hated it!

Untappd Rating: 1.0/5.0

Comments
  1. beerbecue says:

    Bleck. I like how Summer Shandy came out in February. Screw Spring!

    For me, Bell’s Oarsman satisfies any strange hot weather urge I might have for a refreshing, but slightly tart beer.

Leave a Reply

