Leinenkugel Berry Weiss

Posted: April 18, 2012 in Fruit/Vegetable Beer, Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing Company, Reviews

Another day done. I was pretty productive today after work, which was nice. I started putting together an inversion table for my sister. I got about halfway through. I also got another two cases of bottles soaking, so I’m almost caught up with that. And, it’s almost the weekend. I think I’m going to try to brew two batches over the weekend, which should be fun. I get to see Katie tomorrow, so I’m happy about that. She spent last night making fun of me with my sister. I think she enjoys this a little too much. So, beer time…another one from the fruit six-pack.

ABV: 4.7%

Style: Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Trivia: This beer won gold at the Great American Beer Festival in the fruits and vegetable category.

Random: I don’t have high hopes for this beer.

This brew had a thick, two finger white head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy orange color with a lot of visible carbonation on it. The nose was all sweet berries, specifically raspberries and blueberries. But, very, very, sweet. The taste was just like the nose, incredibly sweet. It had a lot of fruit on it…blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. But, it pretty much tasted like alcoholic carbonated fruit juice or a wine cooler. The fruit overwhelmed everything and I couldn’t get any beer taste to it. The body was medium and heavily carbonated. The finish was sweet and long. I let my sister try this one and she really enjoyed it. I could not stand it. Way too sweet and needed some balance. Another Leine’s beer to avoid.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

