Southern Tier Raspberry Wheat Ale

Posted: April 19, 2012 in American Pale Wheat Ale, Reviews, Southern Tier Brewing Company

Second review of the night. I’m actually starting to catch up and hopefully I’ll get to the point where I have exactly enough reviews for one per day for the past two years. I really am liking the whole using themes to explore new beers. It’s forcing me to try beers that I would normally walk by in the beer store. So, let’s get to it.

ABV: 4.5%

Style: American Pale Wheat Ale

Trivia: This beer is now retired. At least I got to it before it was permanently gone!

Random: My cat insists on sitting on the computer as I review. It makes it quite difficult to type.

So, as I opened the brew, it exploded. Not a crazy huge explosion, but a slow and steady explosion. Once I controlled that, it poured with a significant two finger pure white head that took forever to dissipated and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow with a huge amount of carbonation. The nose had some raspberry and an astringent note to it as well. The taste was quite odd. It tasted like seltzer that had a raspberry dipped into it. The astringent note that was apparent in the nose came out after a few sips in the taste. The flavor was pretty boring and just didn’t do much for me. I could see why they were retiring it. The body was very light with heavy carbonation. It finished almost instantly with nothing of note. I wouldn’t have this again…not that I could, since it’s being retired. Avoid.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

