Anderson Valley Boont ESB

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Anderson Valley Brewing Company, Extra Special / Strong Bitter, Reviews

Two hours before I have to leave for the hour-long drive to the airport. I’m happy that my sister will be coming home. The house is really quiet when it’s just me and the cat. But, Katie and Liz were over a lot during the week which was really nice. I went to lunch with Katie and Liz and Katie’s parents today for Mother’s Day. Liz was really cute. At one point, she was pretending to be a baby and looking at me and saying “mama.” Then, she wanted me to carry her out of the restaurant. I definitely didn’t think this would be how 2012 would go for me. So, onto the brew.

ABV: 6.8%

Style: Extra Special/Strong Bitter

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “We like to think Anderson Valley is an extra special place, so we created Boont ESB (or Extra Special Beer). Bigger than your typical ESB, this ale is an innovative take on the style. A four-time gold medal winner, Boont ESB is deep gold in color, with a spicy hop aroma. Like all of Anderson Valley’s beers, Boont ESB is wonderfully balanced—here a big, malty foundation is finished with a refreshingly bitter bite. Try it alone or with heavily spiced meals, like Mexican, Indian or Thai. As with all of our products, Boont ESB is never sterile filtered nor heat pasteurized.”

Random: Liz also asked me to play Barbies today. I am not a Barbie person…this is seriously Katie’s job.

The head poured a finger full of pure white head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy orange color with light carbonation. The brew looked a little more like a wheat beer to me than an ESB. The nose had a bit of malt and some orange notes as well. This definitely didn’t smell like a typical ESB to me. The taste had some bitter and grassy hops followed up with some biscuit and malty sweetness. The nose wasn’t my favorite of the style, but the taste was pretty good. The body was on the thicker side with low carbonation. The finish was relatively quick. This wasn’t the best ESB that I’ve ever had, but I’d have it again. Worth a shot.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

