Founders Curmudgeon Old Ale

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Founders Brewing Company, Old Ale, Reviews

Another weekend over with. I hate Sunday nights, because the only thing that you look forward to is the start of a new work week. I have to pick my sister up from the airport in a few hours, so I’m not going to be home until later, so I figured now was a good time to write up a few reviews.

ABV: 9.8%

Style: Old Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Think classic seafaring ports, local pubs, and weathered old fishermen. This old ale is brewed with molasses and an insane focus on the malt bill, then oak-aged. The result is a strong, rich, malty delight that’s deceptively smooth and drinkable.”

Random: I’m watching the TLC show, Sister Wives and it’s absolutely ridiculous. One wife just “gave” another wife two of her kids because she didn’t think that they were a good fit. Seriously? You can just give your kids away?

The guy on this label does not look happy…I guess he’s the curmudgeon. The brew poured with a thick, two finger tan head that dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was slightly hazy and orange with very little carbonation visible. I was shocked at how mild this beer was. I got a hint of dark fruit, booze and spice, but I had to stick my nose in the pint glass to get it. The taste started with dark fruit, booze, molasses and burnt caramel. The flavors were a bit mild given the brewer. The flavors all worked in concert with each other. The booze didn’t really make an appearance. The body was towards the thicker side with mild carbonation. The finish was pretty quick with a hint of booze. Honestly, I expected more from this brew given the fact that it was from Founders and they usually floor me every time. I wouldn’t have this again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] with this beer. It was a great bourbon barrel beer and so much better than its non-barrel aged base. Although I doubt I’ll be able to have this again, I definitely would in a second. Share […]

Leave a Reply

