Great Divide Hades Ale

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Belgian Strong Pale Ale, Great Divide Brewing Company, Reviews

Another review…trying to chip away at getting 731 reviews done by the second anniversary of the blog. I’ve been trying to get out my comfort zone lately with the beers that I choose to review. This one is definitely not out of my comfort zone. I love Great Divide beers. In all of the breweries that I’ve sampled beers from, Great Divide is #9 on the number of beers that I’ve reviewed from any given brewery (I’ve reviewed 12 so far). Every time that I visit their website, I shocked at how many beers of theirs that I haven’t tried. So, let’s pop this one open.

ABV: 7.8%

Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Hades is a Belgian-Style golden ale brewed with a rare Belgian yeast strain that gives a complex spicy flavor and aroma. Noticeable hops and medium malt character make it a very well balanced, crisp ale.”

Random: The label shows a silhouette of a person walking a three-headed dog which is Hades according to mythology.

This brew poured with a half a finger of pure white head that lingered for awhile and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow with lots of active carbonation visible. The nose had golden fruits, a bit of lemon, pear and Belgian yeast. The nose itself was light, yet fragrant. The taste was not as nice as the nose. It had some sweet malts and Belgian yeast. The fruitiness that I got in the nose was missing in the taste. At the end of the sip, it almost has a pilsner-like taste to it, which didn’t really work for me. The body was very light with lots of carbonation. The finish was quick and unremarkable. I hate to say this, but I really didn’t like this beer. This is probably one of the worst brews that I’ve had from Great Divide.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

