Terrapin Hopzilla

Posted: May 15, 2012 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Reviews, Terrapin Beer Company

Another workday over with! Today wasn’t bad. It got a little crazy at the end of the day and conference calls are never fun. I’m home now, but definitely sore from the gym. I stopped by the library on the way home. Since I have a two-hour daily commute, I listen to audiobooks religiously. I’m just finishing one up about the utility of mess and clutter, which although sounds completely counterproductive, actually makes a lot of sense. I tend to be insanely organized (Katie and I have coordinating google calendars) so, this was actually a new and interesting perspective for me. So, onto a brew that I had at the AC Beer Festival and just loved…

ABV: 10.8%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Terrapin ‘Side Project’ number 12 is none other than the fearless ‘Hopzilla’ Double IPA. This Hoptastic creature clocks in at 110 IBUs and has all the hop explosion of a B-rate monster movie. Made with 100% Maris Otter malt to back up the barrage of hop bitterness, flavor and aroma, this beast knows no boundaries. With all of this hoppy goodness packed into one beer, we wouldn’t have called it by any other name. Brewing words of wisdom: ‘Oh no, they say he’s got to go. Go, go Hopzilla!'”

Random: The next audiobook up is The Worst Case Scenario: Dating and Sex…there’s a joke in there somewhere for me…

First of all, the label on this brew is much better than when it was Side Project 12. It’s now part of the “Monster Beer Tour.” Anyways, it poured a one and half finger pure white head that dissipated relatively quickly, leaving no lacing on my Flying Fish tulip glass. The body was a hazy, light orange color with light carbonation visible through the haziness. The nose was a hop lover’s dream…lots of pine resin and a bit of sweet malt at the end. Yeah, daddy. I was shocked when the taste was citrusy and fresh with some pineapple notes and followed with a bit of sweet malt. I also got some grapefruit and orange peel. This wasn’t the hop bomb that I expected, not that it was a bad thing. The body was towards the thicker side with moderate carbonation. The finish was long with a bit of grapefruit and alcohol warming, although not indicative of the huge ABV on this “monster.” I really enjoyed this brew and wish I had more to sip on. Go grab this one while you can!

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

