Cisco Bailey’s Blonde Ale

Posted: May 16, 2012 in American Blonde Ale, Cisco Brewers, Reviews

When I first bought this beer, I wasn’t exactly sure why. I mean, I haven’t seen it at my home beer store (Cranbury Buy Rite) in awhile, and they used to have a decent selection from the brewery. I also hadn’t quaffed a lot of different offerings from the brewery.  I mean, they have cool labels and all (I do have an odd affinity for them), but why would I grab them when they were a bunch of other beers with better reputations that I could have grabbed? Probably because I thought their Grey Lady was decent. It wasn’t the best beer I’ve ever had of the style, but I had it early in my beer reviewing “career” and I liked it. So far, the other two offerings that I’ve had since have been disappointing (Cisco Sankaty Light and Cisco Whale’s Tale Pale Ale). But, this one has been in a few beer books that I’ve had and I hope it blows the others away.

ABV: 7.5%

Style: American Blonde Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Bailey’s Blonde Ale is a hoppy blonde ale. Plenty of domestic hops give this beer distinct character and a huge floral nose. Bailey’s is a past recipient of a gold medal at the World Beer Championships.”

Random: I’m watching Wednesday Night Baseball and I think that I just saw one of the worst and most obvious balks ever.

This brew poured with a thick white, two finger head that took forever to dissipate and left some lacing on the pint glass. The body was a majorly hazy orange color with generous visible carbonation on it. The nose was filled with sweet citrus like orange and pineapple coupled with floral hops. On the first sip, I was shocked at the hops that were apparent on this brew. They were plentiful, floral in taste and a bit grassy. Grapefruit was also apparent towards the second sip. The citrus flavors were present, but the hops took over this one. I would have pegged this one as more of a pale ale than a blonde. The body was towards the medium side with plentiful carbonation. The finish was long and hoppy. This beer was a bit of a surprise to me. I definitely didn’t expect this beer to have that much hoppiness up front or as much body. I would have this one again without question. This was definitely not your typical blonde beer.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

