Cisco Sankaty Light

Posted: May 16, 2012 in Cisco Brewers, Light Lager, Reviews

The first of a few brews that I bought from Cisco while I was down in South Jersey. I tried a few of them during the AC beer fest, but I don’t think this was one of them. This isn’t usually my favorite style, so I don’t really have high hopes for this one.

ABV: 3.8%

Style: Light Lager

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Sankaty Light Lager is a light American Golden Lager. This delicious creation is light-bodied with tremendous balance and distinct hop character. At 3.8% alcohol and 126 calories this light beer has true flavor and body while being easy to drink and easier on the waistline. It is named after the famous lighthouse that has stood on a bluff on the southeastern side of Nantucket Island since 1849.”

Random: I seriously hate this humidity. It’s freaking ridic. That is all.

This brew poured with a half a finger white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy straw yellow with high amount of visible carbonation through the cloudiness. The nose had a bit of sweet honey and a hint of citrus to it. All in all, a very mild nose for the brew. The taste was almost reminiscent of a macro. There was a bit of sweetness to the taste, but instead of corn, was more of a honey sweetness. There was also some grain flavor to it, but not much else. The body was on the heavier side of the style with moderate carbonation. The finish was thick with moderate carbonation. The beer wasn’t bad, but just didn’t floor me. I could see this more as a lawnmower brew. It was pretty simple but had some flavor to it. If you see it, it’s worth a try.

Untappd Rating: 1.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] and I liked it. So far, the other two offerings that I’ve had since have been disappointing (Cisco Sankaty Light and Cisco Whale’s Tale Pale Ale). But, this one has been in a few beer books that I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

