Cisco Whale’s Tale Pale Ale

Posted: May 16, 2012 in Cisco Brewers, English Pale Ale, Reviews

So, I started listening to the Worst Case Scenario audiobook that I got from the library. It is not only hilarious, but useful. I figured out how to escape a bad date and get a red wine stain out. I really love books like that. They give you all these tips about how to handle common situations. Well…not that I usually need to escape Katie, but I have a habit of spilling crap on myself. Tonight’s brew is another one from Cisco that I tried at the AC Beer Fest but I don’t remember it flooring me.

ABV: 5.6%

Style: English Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “If you’re not familiar with Nantucket history, you’ll be interested to know that this tiny island was once the Whaling Capital of the World. Knowing a bit of the history of a place can really help put life in perspective, and I like to encourage people to spend part of their time here visiting the Whaling Museum, the Oldest House, and the windmill. Calling our beer ‘Whale’s Tale’ is a little tribute to the whaling era and a way to say hey, whales are people too! Let’s appreciate their contribution to Nantucket’s prosperity.”

Random: For some reason I haven’t watched a huge amount of baseball this season. It’s probably because the Phils have just been atrocious this season.

This brew poured with a one finger white head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body of the brew was an ever-so-slightly hazy orange color with decent carbonation. The nose was a bit malt heavy, but I guess that was to be expected since the style is an English pale ale. There is a dose of some hops in there, but they hang out in the background. The taste was relatively neutral. The hops came up first, but were quickly balanced with some bready caramel malt. There was also a bit of a medicinal taste to it that I didn’t find pleasant at all. The body was on the thicker side of a pale ale with medium carbonation. The finish lingered with the medicinal flavor that I couldn’t identify. This brew really didn’t do anything for me. It was just there…no flavors to entice the palate, just wet and beery. I wouldn’t have this again.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] the other two offerings that I’ve had since have been disappointing (Cisco Sankaty Light and Cisco Whale’s Tale Pale Ale). But, this one has been in a few beer books that I’ve had and I hope it blows the others […]

Leave a Reply

