Flying Fish Summer Ale

Posted: May 20, 2012 in American Blonde Ale, Flying Fish Brewing Company, Reviews

The second brew of the night. I got this beer from Katie’s mother. She got me a six-pack of this, the summer seasonal from Flying Fish. I haven’t reviewed this one from Flying Fish, although I’ve tried it a few times. Saying that the weather is definitely towards the summertime, I think this brew is appropriate.

ABV: 4.6%

Style: American Blonde Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A tribute to the highly drinkable ‘every day’ beers from French-speaking Belgium. Contains Belgian two-row pale malt and 7% wheat. This beer is lightly filtered with an earthy, spicy hop character from imported Styrian Goldings hops and a beautiful rich creamy head from the wheat.”

Random: My meow likes duck. This is probably the most spoiled cat that I’ve ever met.

The brew poured with a thick, two finger white head that dissipated very slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow with lots of active carbonation visible throughout. The nose had notes of wheat and lemon. The taste was slightly different. I got more grassy and herbal notes with citrus and bready malt coming after. The body was on the thinner side, as it should be, with lots of carbonation. The brew was very crisp and light, making it a good choice for a summer brew. The finish was really quick without much to it. It went down really easily. There wasn’t much to this, but that’s why it worked. I could see throwing a few of these back on a warm day without a problem. It wasn’t my favorite summer brew, but I’d have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

