Keegan Hurricane Kitty

Posted: May 20, 2012 in American IPA, Keegan Ales, Reviews

I hate Sunday nights. I really don’t look forward to going back to work on Mondays. At least next week I only have a three-day work week. I also get to spend a few days in Philly for a Philly Beer Week. I can’t wait for that. So many beers and so many bars…Katie doesn’t even know what she’s in for. So, this is the first beer of the six-pack that Katie picked out for me. Let’s see how this one goes.

ABV: 5.5%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “This brew is a coppery and heavily hopped India Pale Ale. Named after brewmaster Keegan’s grandmother whose driving earned her quite a reputation with local police racing her six children to and from a local Long Island beach ferry during the 1960′s, Hurricane Kitty is the undisputed family favorite. We try to make the hop bill read as aggressively as her driver’s record.”

Random: I finally have a full beer fridge again. It’s so nice…I have a bunch of great beers lined up for reviews.

First of all, the beer bottle was filled up way higher than a normal bottle. It was almost a near explosion. Not cool. When I finally could pour it, the head was huge. It was three fingers tall and off white in color. It dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy amber color with a decent amount of carbonation on it. The nose had some grapefruit on it and some caramel malt. The taste was grapefruit, caramel malt and breadiness. This was one of the most balanced IPAs I’ve had. Everything worked really well together. The body was on the thicker side with generous carbonation. The finish was pretty long with citrus and floral hops. This was a really nice IPA. I was really surprised after the crappy pour on it. I would definitely have this one again. A real gem.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] for end of quarter. Anyways, let’s see how this beer is. It’s a dialed up version of Keegan Hurricane Kitty, which I reviewed a few years […]

Leave a Reply

