Horny Goat Hopped Up ‘N Horny

Posted: May 22, 2012 in American Pale Ale, Reviews, Rex Beverage Holdings

Another workday done before the long weekend. Katie and I went to the gym and then took the kid out for dinner. I think that she’s going to be in pain again tomorrow, as am I. But, I definitely feel better since I’ve been back in the gym. So, this is another beer from the six-pack that Katie picked…let’s see how it is.

ABV: 5.3%

Style: American Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “This IPA has just the right amount of hop love. We finish this brew off by dry hopping it with fresh Cascade hops, giving it a wonderful fresh citrus finish.” I guess BeerAdvocate and the brewery don’t agree on which style this one is…

Random: I love my foam roller. It really helps with the soreness. I think I have to buy Katie one.

The brew poured with a one finger head that dissipated quickly, but left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear orange color with a huge amount of active carbonation…almost seltzer like. The nose started with grapefruit and quickly followed up with some sweet caramel malt. The taste was not exactly what I expected. This was definitely a malt forward pale ale. The hops and the grapefruit took a backseat on this one, big time. The sweet malt was upfront and carried throughout to the quick finish. The body was on the thinner side with lots of carbonation, almost too much. This beer was only okay for me. I would have liked to see more of a hop presence. I wouldn’t rush back to have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

