Fegley’s Brew Works Space Monkey

Posted: May 23, 2012 in Bethlehem Brew Works, Reviews, Saison/Farmhouse Ale

This was the second brew of the night and the last one of Katie’s six-pack. I really liked letting her pick out beers for me. She picked out beers for me that I would have never picked out myself. I’m thinking this may be a theme (that’s a hint, Kate). So, this brew is a saison with a crapload of fruit added to it. Let’s see how it goes.

ABV: 7%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Space Monkey is formulated to rocket around your palate with a 21st century complexity in flavor and aroma: hints of lemon and pepper orbit around a raspberry tartness to guarantee a successful flight.”

Random: I love the label on this brew! Very cute.

This brew poured with a one finger head that I assumed would have dissipated slowly, except for the fact my sister made a joke and spilled the beer on herself after she tasted it. The body was a clear chestnut color with lots of carbonation on it. The nose smelled like a raspberry lambic to me, raspberries and a bit of tartness. The taste was exactly like the nose, except more intense. The fruit was pronounced, as was the tartness. It was really nice, actually. The body was a decent thickness with a lot of carbonation. The finish was pretty long, with lots of fruit. I thought that this brew was going to be a bit sweeter, and after trying it, I was surprised that it was as tart as it was. With that being said, I really enjoyed it. I would definitely have this one again. Another good pick by Kate!

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

