Belhaven Scottish Ale

Posted: June 9, 2012 in Belhaven Brewery Company Ltd., Reviews, Scottish Ale

This was the second brew that Katie got for me. I love when people buy me beer. Other than the fact that it’s free, it’s nice because they tend to get me beers that I would never purchase for myself. My father does this too, except he basically buys the beers based on the labels. Katie tends to buy me English/Scottish brews…and I have no idea why. She really only likes drinking fruity beers (she bought herself cider). So, without further ado…

ABV: 5.2%

Style: Scottish Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Malty and hoppy, we at Belhaven love the classic Scottish Ale and we’ve been brewing it longer than any of the other beers we produce. Delivering a sweet, smooth and creamy finish, Scottish Ale has a stunning ruby colour in the glass. Magic.”

Random: I saw that they also offer this beer out of a nitro can. I’d be interested in seeing the difference.

This one poured out of the bottle with a two finger, off white, seriously thick head. It dissipated slowly, yet left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, mahogany color with low carbonation. The nose was earthy hops and biscuit malt, but was a bit off kilter. The taste was more balanced than the nose. It started with the biscuit malt up front then the earthy hops came through with some grass in the back. Even though initially I wasn’t thrilled with the brew, I really enjoyed the flavors. The body was medium thickness with low carbonation. The finish was long with some hops. I didn’t know what to expect from this one, but it was pretty satisfying. It’s worth a try.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

