Evil Genius Witty Will

Posted: June 9, 2012 in Evil Genius Beer Company, Reviews, Witbier

After leaving The Institute, Katie and I headed to one of my favorite spots in the city, Reading Terminal Market. After walking around and drooling at all of the food, I expected to hit up the beer garden in the center. It was always dark, but they had decent beer on tap. I was shocked to see that it was completely redone with a great selection of brews. I let Katie pick this one out for me.

ABV: 4.9%

Style: Witbier

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Good Old Bill Shakespeare was most certainly a genius, but we think he’s pretty evil too. We’ve all been stuck studying his plays for 400 years! Our Wit is infused with mandarin oranges to give it a hint of sweetness that balances this beer nicely. A fantastic thirst quencher.”

Random: I pretty much have to hit up Reading Terminal Market every time that I go to Philly.

This one poured with a thick one finger white head that dissipated slowly, but left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, golden-yellow color with almost no carbonation visible through the body. The nose had a little bit of skunk but had to stick my nose into the glass to get anything (I honestly think there was a huge problem with the keg of this or they gave me the wrong beer, because it didn’t resemble a witbier at all, especially in the color and flavors). The taste had nothing to it. It was almost like a macro. There was a little grain to it and nothing else. I definitely didn’t get any witbier characteristics or mandarin oranges. This was really bland with a quick finish. This was just really boring. I would have this again because I don’t think this beer was exactly right.

Untappd Rating: 1.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

