Lakefront Bock Beer

Posted: June 9, 2012 in Bock, Lakefront Brewery Inc., Reviews

After all the typing that I did today, I’m back for one more review. I really should be in bed, saying that I have to be up around 0600 to go to an EMT refresher class, but I can’t sleep. I’m hoping a review will wear me out a little bit and make me feel like going to bed. I didn’t get much sleep last night because at 0700, I had a four-year old decide that she wanted to jump on me while I was in a dead sleep. So, tonight’s brew is another one from the bock six-pack.

ABV: 6.7%

Style: Bock

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A traditional bock beer, using 100% Munich malt and balanced with German Hallertau hops. Pours a fiery orange-garnet color with a thick, pale-orange head. The aroma is malty with a hint of the noble German hops. Maltiness dominates the flavor, but with a very complex background of hop bitterness, floral yeast character and a very intriguing nutty quality. Very drinkable!”

Random: I didn’t know that QVC had Apple products now. Interesting.

This brew poured with a two finger off white head that dissipated slowly and left no lacing on my pint glass. The body was a hazy mahogany color with lots of active carbonation visible throughout the body. The nose was a little different than I was used to for the style. It had this floral sweetness followed up by generous amounts of malt. The taste was the exact carbon copy of the nose. It was floral, then had a bit of nuttiness and sweetness and malt. The floral thing continues to throw me for a loop. I’m not exactly sure I like it or not. The booze doesn’t really play into this brew. The body is medium with higher than average carbonation. The finish was quick with that floral thing. For me, after a few sips, it was alright, but not something that I would seek out.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

