Sierra Nevada Knock On Wood Bourbon Barrel Aged Stout

Posted: June 9, 2012 in American Double/Imperial Stout, Reviews, Sierra Nevada Brewing Company

This was the second beer that I had at Monk’s. My biggest problem all of Philly Beer Week was that there were so many different beers that I wanted to try and couldn’t choose. This one was recommended to me by the waiter. He said that it was very rare and they had only gotten one keg of it. To be honest, I’d never heard of it, but I figured I should try it.

ABV: 9.2%

Style: American Double/Imperial Stout

Trivia: The only info that I could find on this beer was from Beer Street Journal, “Sierra Nevada Knock On Wood. Brewed with cocoa & chili pepper, aged in bourbon barrels.”

Random: The second best thing about Philly Beer Week was the food. I love the food in Philly. It’s innovative and amazingly tasty.

This brew poured with a half a finger of tan head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was almost black with no visible carbonation due to the color. The nose was filled with oak and chocolate, but I really didn’t get chili on it. Despite that, the nose was really inviting. The taste was just knock your socks off. It started with a huge oak flavor that was present throughout. I also got vanilla and chocolate. The taste was absolutely wonderful, but Katie hated it. The chili came out on the finish, yet was hidden during most of the taste. The body and carbonation were both moderate and perfect for the brew. The booze was hidden like crazy. This was a great brew and one that I wish I could have again, although with the high ABV, is probably not a good idea.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

