Great Divide 18th Anniversary Wood Aged Double IPA

Posted: June 10, 2012 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Great Divide Brewing Company, Reviews

I had one of my EMT recert classes today. Since I have a year until I have to officially recert, I’ve been breaking them up. I did have all my elective credits done within a year of getting my new cert though. So, after being stuck in class all day, I’m home to enjoy a brew or two. This is one that I’ve really been looking forward to.

ABV: 10%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “18TH ANNIVERSARY WOOD AGED DOUBLE IPA is a copper-hued treat in celebration of everything Great Divide does best. Plenty of malty sweetness provides a backdrop for earthy, floral English and American hops, while French and American oak round off the edges and provide a touch of vanilla. Thanks to everyone who’s supported us for the last 18 years—here’s to 18 more!”

Random: I love watching Jeff Dunham on tv. I crack up every time that I see him.

This bad boy poured with a huge, three finger tan fluffy head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the tulip glass. The body was a clear mahogany with moderate carbonation. The nose definitely had an oak presence with some hops and a little bit of malt. The taste wasn’t exactly what I expected. The oak presence while not being obnoxious was the most dominant flavor up front. The hops were there, but were not intense and mostly manifested as mild grapefruit. The malt came up next with some nuttiness. The oak aging was apparent throughout with some wood and smoke really adding to the beer. The body was medium with moderate carbonation. The booze presented with a bit of burn on the end, but nothing intense. The finish was long with some smoke. When I got this beer, I expected it to have some aggressive hops, but they were definitely subdued by the oak. Although this beer wasn’t mindblowing, it was an enjoyable sipper that I’d have again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

