Goose Island India Pale Ale

Posted: June 18, 2012 in English India Pale Ale, Goose Island, Reviews

Long time, no update. Apparently wedding planning and a four year old take over your life. I’ve finally gotten to the point that I’ve accepted I won’t be doing daily beer reviews. I mean, it’s really not that much to sacrifice when I consider the whole wife and kid thing. So, I have a few reviews that I haven’t posted, so I’m going to try to get them all done tonight. Plus, I think Katie misses reading them at work. So, here’s the first one.

ABV: 5.9%

Style: English India Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our India Pale Ale recalls a time when ales shipped from England to India were highly hopped to preserve their distinct taste during the long journey. The result is a hop lover’s dream with a fruity aroma, set off by a dry malt middle, and long hop finish.”

Random: God, I love “It’s Always Sunny…” It’s absolutely ridiculous. It almost makes me miss Philly Beer Week like crazy.

This brew poured with a huge, two finger fluffy white head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow with lots of visible carbonation throughout the body. The nose had some pine and caramel malt. It was really nice and definitely smelled like an English IPA. The taste was all English IPA with mild pine and malt without many other flavors. The body was thick with decent carbonation. Booze was obviously not a factor on this brew. The finish was really long with pine. This wasn’t the best English IPA that I’ve had, but not the worst. I would have this again, but I’m not in a rush to have it.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

