Brooklyn Summer Ale

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Brooklyn Brewery, English Pale Ale, Reviews

Here’s the other brew that I had at The Spot. Brooklyn beers for me are always hit or miss. I’m actually surprised that I haven’t had this one yet. It’s not that I haven’t seen it in a million places during the summer, it’s just that there are always other beers that I would rather have. So, since this was the only other beer on tap that I hadn’t sampled, I figured that it was time to bite the bullet and try it.

ABV: 5%

Style: English Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Brooklyn Summer Ale is a modern rendition of the ‘Light Dinner Ales’ brewed in England throughout the 1800’s right up until the 1940’s. They were also called ‘luncheon ales’ or even ‘family ales,’ because they were refreshing and flavorful without being too heavy. We brew our Brooklyn Summer Ale from premium English barley malt, which gives this light-bodied golden beer a fresh bready flavor. German and American hops lend a light crisp bitterness and a citrus/floral aroma, resulting in a beer with a very sunny disposition.”

Random: I hate going into the city, which is shocking because most of my family lives there and I was born there. I’m a Philly girl all the way.

This brew poured with a barely there white head that dissipated quickly and left mild lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow color with generous carbonation. The nose smelled summer-y to me. I got grain and citrus mostly, which was really pleasant on a hot day. The taste started with lemon and went into grass with some orange brightness. The body was thin with lots of carbonation. The finish was quick with citrus. Although this beer is on the mild side, it was really thirst quenching and definitely sessionable. I was pleasantly surprised with this one and would definitely have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

