Samuel Adams Norse Legend

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Boston Beer Company, Reviews, Sahti

This was the first beer that I had at The Spot in Point Pleasant (check out my Beer Bars/Restaurant section for a review). It’s actually getting difficult for me to order beers even at decent beer places because I’ve reviewed so many. This was one of the two beers on tap that I hadn’t reviewed (of course I had the other one right after to review). So, here’s one of the newer offerings from Sam Adams.

ABV: 7%

Style: Sahti

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “One of the key characteristics of Sahti is its juniper flavor. Traditionally this was achieved through filtering through full juniper branches. Although this works well through the hand-carved kuurna, (wooden trough), it proved to be quite a challenge in our brewery. With some more experimentation we developed a recipe where we age the beer on a bed of juniper berries that impart an herbal, woodsy, and fresh evergreen character. The distinctive juniper is combined with the dry spiciness of rye and a base of roasted sweetness from specialty malts. Hallertau Mittelfrueh hops bring a fresh citrus flavor that perfectly complements the brew’s rugged character.”

Random: I’m really liking how Sam Adams is going outside of the box and making these styles. I think it will get more people into some of the more obscure styles.

This one poured with a thick, one finger, off white head that dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a clear mahogany color with moderate carbonation. The nose was light, lighter than I expected, actually, with a little bit of spruce. That was a bit of a disappointment. I like when I get a unique, big nose from a brew like this. But, the taste definitely made up for it. It started with some sweetness and then went to nuttiness and then the herbs came out. I got pronounced spruce and juniper. The taste was much milder than I expected, but I think it made it more accessible to someone who hasn’t had the style before. The booze wasn’t a factor in this and the brew finished quickly. Although I would have it again and I really enjoyed it, it could use a slight increase in the flavor. Worth a shot.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

