Samuel Smith’s Imperial Stout

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Reviews, Russian Imperial Stout, Samuel Smith Old Brewery

This was a brew that I had over the weekend at my parents’ house. My Dad picked it up for me awhile ago. Despite the insane heat, I picked this one saying my other option was Corona Light. So, I popped this bad boy open, not really knowing what to expect…

ABV: 7%

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

Trivia: According to the importer, “Rich, flavorful, deep chocolate color, scented and roasted barley nose. Complexity of malt, hops, alcohol and yeast.”

Random: I absolutely love the bottles and the labels from Sam Smith. They’re classic to me.

This brew poured with a hugely thick, tan head, which dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a dark, dark brown with no visible carbonation in it due to the color. The nose had a lot of dark chocolate, coffee and some booze…really, really inviting. The taste was almost the same as the nose, except more intense with a velvety mouthfeel. I got a lot of dark chocolate and coffee with some booze on the end and a dose of roastiness. The body was thick with moderate carbonation and velvety. The finish was long with coffee coming along for the ride and a touch of booze on the end. I would have this again in a second. This could be one of my favorite offerings from the brewery. Just divine!

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

