Samuel Smith’s Pure Brewed Lager Beer

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Euro Pale Lager, Reviews, Samuel Smith Old Brewery

Here’s another beer that Kate picked up for me. Not shockingly, it’s a British beer. I really think she just picks based off the labels. I actually found a new fruity thing that she loves. It’s Mike’s Hard Lemonade – Black Cherry. It’s one of the few from them that doesn’t get old after one or two and isn’t sickeningly syrupy sweet. So, onto the brew.

ABV: 5%

Style: Euro Pale Lager

Trivia: According to the importer, “Samuel Smith is most famous for classic ales, but it also offers what is described as ‘England’s finest lager.’ The all-malt beer is brewed with a softer water and fermented in separately-housed stainless steel lager vessels using bottom-fermenting yeast.”

Random: I hate the heat. It has been oppressively hot and it’s just ridiculous. I’m ready for winter.

This brew poured with a huge white head that dissipated slowly, yet left no lacing on the pint glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow color with lots of active carbonation. It almost looked like a macro. The nose had some sweet grain (which bordered on too sweet for me) and a little hay. I thought the taste would start with the really sweet grain that was apparent in the nose, but it didn’t. I got hay and some grass first and then the sweetness came through at the end of the sip. I was pleasantly surprised that the sweetness wasn’t obnoxious or abrasive. I really liked it. The grain also had some earthy notes to it. The body was a medium thickness with generous carbonation and finished quickly. This was definitely a session beer. For a beer that I thought would be a struggle to drink, I really enjoyed it. I could see throwing a few of these back on a hot day. I would have this again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

