Shipyard Monkey Fist IPA

Posted: July 2, 2012 in American IPA, Reviews, Shipyard Brewing Company

Yet another brew that Kate picked up for me. For once, she actually purchased an American brew. It was actually pretty odd. I think it’s because I specifically told her that I wanted an IPA. She’s so cute though. When she goes to buy me beer, she goes on the blog from her phone to make sure that I haven’t had it. I guess I’ll keep her around for a bit. So, time to crack open this relatively new brew from Shipyard.

ABV: 6.9%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to wikipedia.com, “A monkey’s fist or monkey paw is a type of knot, so named because it looks somewhat like a small bunched fist/paw. It is tied at the end of a rope to serve as a weight, making it easier to throw, and also as an ornamental knot. This type of weighted rope can be used as an improvised weapon, called a slungshot by sailors. It was also used in the past as an anchor in rock climbing, by stuffing it into a crack, but this is obsolete and dangerous.”

Random: I think the AC went in my house or the settings are off. When I came home, the house was set to 82 degrees.

This brew poured with a thick, two finger, off white head that looked like whipped egg whites. It took forever to dissipate and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a slightly hazy orange color with moderate carbonation. The nose had some grapefruit and orange to it. It was really nice and fresh. The taste was grapefruit and pine bit with a little caramel malt on the end. I also got some tropical fruit to it as well. It was really pleasant and refreshing. The body was medium thickness with medium carbonation. The finish was long and fruity. The booze didn’t make an appearance on this one. I really enjoyed this one. I would definitely have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

