Blue Point Summer Ale

Posted: July 6, 2012 in American Blonde Ale, Blue Point Brewing Company, Reviews

This was my second beer of Independence Day 2012. When I pulled this one out, I showed Katie since she liked the last label so much. She thought it was incredibly boring. I have to say that I agreed. I tend to like the beers from Blue Point. They’re not the best that I’ve ever had, but they’re pretty solid. I had seen the Summer Ale around for a few years in a row, but never got the chance to try it. Given the incessant heat on 4th of July, I was hoping that this one would be a real thirst quencher.

ABV: 4.4%

Style: American Blonde Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “There is a cure for Summertime Blues and the prescription is simple: 1 six-pack of Blue Point Brewing Company’s Summer Ale. Adult dosage: 12-oz servings as needed until mood improves. The delicious golden taste of Summer Ale comes from a substantial portion of wheat malt added to a traditional barley malt mix which gives this delicious brew a unique tartness not found in many beers today. No surprise – this light, thirst-quenching brew is best enjoyed on hot Summer days.”

Random: I’ve never tried oysters, but I just can’t get past the whole looking like snot thing.

This brew poured with a two finger, white head that was thin and dissipated almost instantly. It didn’t leave any lacing on the glass. The body was a clear tan-orange color with lots of active carbonation. Well, it definitely looked like a summer beer. When I stuck my nose in the glass, I got lemon, spice and wheat, but it was generally more subtle than I’ve come to expect from a summer brew. The taste had some lemon, coriander and wheat. The flavors were very delicate and could have been a little more prominent. The body was overly thin with a lot of seltzer-like carbonation. Obviously, booze wasn’t even a factor on this one. Although this brew was definitely drinkable, it wasn’t a standout summer brew. I wouldn’t have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

