Epic Hopulent IPA

Posted: July 6, 2012 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Epic Brewing Co, Reviews

I love my fiancee. I mean, I know that I should love her, saying that I’m marrying her and all. But, she’s incredibly thoughtful. Like when she tells me that she picked me up a bottle of Epic Hopulent IPA for me to try and apologized for not getting me others because her hands were full. How cute is that? I’ve only had a few beers from Epic, but I’ve enjoyed all of the ones that I’ve tried and have a bunch of others on my list to sample. This is their double IPA and it’s no secret what a hop head I am, so I’m hoping for the best on this one.

ABV: 8.4%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Hopulent IPA is a big beer with lots of complex malt flavor and excessive hops. This beer will have changes to the grain bill and seasonal hop changes. The character of Hopulent IPA is over the top, too much of everything—a real HOP HEADS DELIGHT! Release one weighed in well over 9% ABV with almost 10 pounds of dry hops in the 10-barrel tank.”

Random: I really like the label art on this one. I’m not even sure why.

Yes, I know I’m using the wrong style of glass. This would be the lack of appropriate glassware that I referred to in my other post. Anyways, it poured with a seriously thick two finger, white head. It dissipated really slowly, leaving a huge amount of lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy orange color with lots of active carbonation. I have to admit, this beer was sexy. The nose was incredibly fragrant. I actually got a whiff as soon as I cracked open the bomber. It had pine, grapefruit and tropical fruits…really yummy. The taste was just as good with lots of citrus, but pronounced pineapple and tropical fruits. I really didn’t get a lot of malt to balance it, but no complaints it. It was unapologetically hop forward, just how I like it. The body was medium thickness with lots of prickly carbonation. It ended long and sticky…god that sounds wrong. The booze was well hidden. I loved this brew. I would definitely have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 5.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

