Innis & Gunn Independence Day 2012

Posted: July 6, 2012 in Innis & Gunn, Reviews, Scottish Ale

This was the brew that Katie picked out for me last night. I picked a four pack of this up at Spirits Unlimited in Shrewsbury on July 3rd. I saw a few posts regarding the release of it, but I haven’t seen any reviews of it to date. I don’t have a huge amount of experience with Innis and Gunn. This is actually my first review of any of their beers. I have tasted a few of their offerings at different beer festivals and remember liking them. So, let’s crack this one open.

ABV: 7%

Style: Scottish Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “One of America’s National Symbols, ‘Uncle Sam’ is a real man of Scots decent. Samuel Wilson’s parents sailed to America from Greenock, Scotland. Samuel supplied the army with meat in barrels during the War of 1812-15. The barrels were prominently labelled “U.S.” for the United States, but the soldiers joked that the letters stood for “Uncle Sam.”

Random: Does anyone else find it funny that a Scottish brewery brewed a beer in honor of American Independence Day?

First of all, this brew comes in a clear glass bottle. The four pack is really tall, so that should have kept most of the light out and given that it was brewed for July 4th, I’ve assumed that it was pretty fresh anyways. It just strikes me as odd that they would choose a clear bottle. Now that I’ve successfully gone on a tangent, back to the beer in hand. This brew poured with a two finger white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear mahogany color with an insane amount of carbonation visible. The nose was really pungent…a lot of oak and some nutty sweetness. Despite the heat, it was still in my wheelhouse. The taste was much like the nose, very oak dominant. I also got vanilla and a hint of nuttiness with some tobacco. This drank more like a brandy or a good bourbon rather than a beer. I really loved the flavor. The body was thick with lots of carbonation. The finish was lengthy with some booze warming on the end. Although most people will find this one a little heavy for a brew that is marketed on one of the hotter holidays of the year, I absolutely loved it. Throw the AC on and sip this one.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

