Oskar Blues G’knight Imperial Red Ale

Posted: July 6, 2012 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Oskar Blues Grill & Brewery, Reviews

As usual, I have a bunch of reviews to post in one shot. The beauty of splitting my time between two places is that I have different beers set for reviewing in each. The one thing that I don’t have in both places is appropriate glassware, which I probably should remedy. This brew is one that I’ve wanted to since I started the blog (and when it was called “Gordon”). When I was down the shore, I picked up a four pack and killed the first three and set the last one aside for reviewing.

ABV: 8.7%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “G’Knight is a hybrid version of a strong ale – somewhere between an Imperial Red and a Double IPA. We make it with six different malts and three types of hops, then dry-hop it with a mutha lode of Amarillo hops. It is 8.7% alcohol by volume and has 60 International Bittering Units (IBUs).”

Random: There’s a few other brews from Oskar Blues that I’ve had on the list to try forever, but haven’t gotten to. I need to get on that.

This one poured with a thick, one finger tan head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy orange-red color with light, visible carbonation. The nose was all IPA. I got lots of piney hops and some malt on the end. But, the hops really stole the show on this one. The same thing happened for me in the taste, some oily hops upfront, but not nearly as aggressive as the nose. At the end of the sip, there was some nuttiness and caramel apparent. The mouthfeel was a little on the heavy side (although it didn’t detract from the taste) with low carbonation. The high ABV only became apparent with a mild burn on the long piney finish. I loved this brew. I can’t believe that it’s taken me so long to try it. I will definitely have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

