Port Brewing Anniversary Ale (2012)

Posted: July 6, 2012 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Port Brewing Company/Pizza Port, Reviews

It is ridiculously hot. I can’t even take the heat. I heard that tomorrow is going to be even worse. Is it Fall yet? So, this is a review that I wrote up from last week. I’ve only had a few brews from Port Brewing, but I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the ones that I’ve had. Hopefully this one will be as good as the others that I’ve sampled.

ABV: 10%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A massively hopped strong pale ale brewed to celebrate our anniversary each year. Anniversary Ale is light gold to pale orange in color and offers a potent aroma of fresh pine and citrus with some warming alcohols present. The taste is a thick, chewy hop presence only barely contained by balancing malts. The finish is pure hop expression with a moderate warming alcohol sensation.”

Random: I could never live in Florida. It’s bad enough dealing with this in the Summer.

This brew poured with a huge, three finger white head that was incredibly fluffy and left lots of lacing on my tulip glass. The nose was very fragrant, filled with citrusy hops and pine resin. On the first sip, it was obvious that this was a West Coast IPA. It started with pine and grapefruit, which was to be expected. Then, some tropical fruit and candi sugar sweetness at the end came out. The booze was pretty apparent on the end and lingered into the long finish. The body was oily and towards the thicker side with moderate carbonation. Final thoughts? Not the best DIPA I’ve ever had, but solid. I would have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

