Fort Collins Rocky Mountain IPA

Posted: July 8, 2012 in American IPA, Fort Collins Brewing, Reviews

So, this was another brew review that I had done last week but hadn’t posted. When I was down the shore a few weeks ago, I visited a few different beer stores and I picked up a mixed twelve pack of Fort Collins brews. I haven’t had a lot of them, so I really don’t know how to feel about them. The only thing that I remember is that I bought a six-pack of their brews before I even started the blog. So, let’s see how this one goes.

ABV: 6.2%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: This won the US Open Beer Championship Silver Medal in 2009.

Random: I can’t wait until “The Walking Dead” comes back in October. I never understood why people watched it at first, but now I’m obsessed.

This brew poured with a thick, two finger tan head that dissipated slowly, yet left no lacing on the glass. The body was a slightly clear chestnut color with lots of active carbonation visible throughout. The nose had lots of pine and citrus notes. It was exceptionally floral with not a lot of malt behind it. The taste started with the floral hops that were apparent in the nose. It was not as citrusy as I would have thought. I also got some biscuity malt. The body was incredibly thin with too much carbonation. The finish was long with the biscuit malt that was apparent in the taste. This wasn’t an IPA that would floor anyone, but it was decent. I wouldn’t rush back to have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

