Sixpoint Apollo

Posted: July 8, 2012 in Kristalweizen, Reviews, Sixpoint

Today wasn’t a bad day, a little bit crazy at work. I didn’t get out until about two and a half hours after my end time, but Kate was at work anyways, so it didn’t really matter. I came home and watched some television with my sister. So, I think it’s definitely time to sample a brew. This one happens to be the summer seasonal from Sixpoint.

ABV: 5.2%

Style: Kristalweizen

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “The unmistakable flavor of a Bavarian Wheat, but with a clear golden brilliance and a Sixpoint twist. An entirely unique canned offering for the sun-worshipping ale lovers.”

Random: I’m watching “Flashpoint” with my sister. It’s actually a decent show. It figures that they cancelled it.

This brew poured with a half a finger of thin white head that dissipated pretty quickly, yet left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, orange color with a decent amount of visible carbonation on it. On the nose, I got some banana, clove and lemon with a nice dose of wheat. It was really nice and inviting. The taste was initially tart with lemon notes, but quickly moved into a slight honey sweetness. I also got a dose of wheat and clove at the end, but it was relatively muted compared to the other flavors. The body was on the thicker side of a wheat beer with moderate carbonation. Honestly, I would have liked a little more of it. The finish was quick with lemon. I really enjoyed this brew on a hot day like this. I would definitely have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

