Rock Art American Red

Posted: July 10, 2012 in American Amber/Red Ale, Reviews, Rock Art Brewery

So, yesterday I started the couch to 5k running program. Anyone who knows me knows that I hate running. But, it’s something that I’ve wanted to get into for awhile and I thought that this program would be the best way to do it. So, I went home and took care of some stuff there, did my run and then it was off to Katie’s for the night. The fun thing about splitting my time between two places is that I really don’t know which beers I have in which place. This could also explain why I haven’t updated my beers on hand in forever. Anyways, I picked up a mixed twelve pack from Rock Art at a new liquor store on Route 9 that advertised they had a lot of craft beer. It was alright…not great. So, onto the brew…

ABV: 4.8%

Style: American Amber/Red Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “The unofficial name for this beer is ‘Super Glide.’ Malty rich with a hint of spicy hops and roasted grains. This beer is one smooth ride with a clean finish! We brewed this one with American Pale, oats, flaked barley, black, chocolate, red malt, melandolin malt. American hops include Magnum, Centennial, Liberty and Crystal. Enjoy!”

Random: I have a certain affinity for Rock Art brews since they use a kokopelli on the label. I have a kokopelli tattoo on my right ankle.

This one poured with half a finger of white head that dissipated almost instantly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear chestnut color with a decent amount of active carbonation. The nose was a lot of nutty malt with some sweetness as well. The taste was a lot like the nose and this wasn’t a good thing. It was pretty much all nutty malt and nothing else. I would have liked to see the sweetness from the nose come through or something else to balance this brew out, but I came up empty-handed. After a few sips, the beer got monotonous and boring. The body was on the thicker side with generous carbonation. The finish was long and nutty. For me, I couldn’t find a lot to say about this beer because it was boring. There also wasn’t a lot to like about the brew. There are so many better options out there to try than this one.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

