Samuel Adams Verloren

Posted: July 10, 2012 in Boston Beer Company, Gose, Reviews

Tonight I’m watching the All Star Game. I missed the Home Run Derby last night, which is very unlike me. But, I was spending time with Kate and outside running, so it was worth it. Tonight’s beer (most likely the first of two) is an offering from Samuel Adams that I’m really excited about. I like that they’re getting into more interesting and unique beers. This one is a gose, which I don’t have a huge amount of experience with, so let’s see how it goes.

ABV: 6%

Style: Gose

Trivia: “Verloren” means to lose or be defeated.

Random: I’m loving the 5 runs in the first inning for the National League. I am not loving Joe Buck. I think Fox just puts him on to torture baseball fans.

This brew poured with a huge three finger white head that dissipated at a pretty rapid pace and left significant lacing on the glass. The body was a clear amber color with a huge amount of carbonation visible throughout. The nose was incredibly interesting. I got some coriander and then an herbal, medicinal note to it. The taste was a bit different. I got some citrus and the coriander that was apparent in the nose, but the herbal/medicinal quality seems to have disappeared. The citrus is definitely lemon. I also got salt…interesting. I enjoyed the flavors of the beer, but I think it could have used some of the herbal notes in the nose. The body is towards the thin side with lots of carbonation. The finish was lengthy with some spice to it. The booze was not a factor on this one. I don’t have much experience with the style, but I thought it was decent. Grab one if you see it.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

